Egypt: Urgent call

One year of physical and psychological abuse for
Eman Al-Helw and Hossam Ahmad

في نداء عاجل صباح اليوم 25 مارس 2020 لعدد من البرلمانيين الفرنسيين وأعضاء ومسئولين بالبرلمان الأوروبي والحكومات الأوروبية، وبعض المقررين الخواص والخبراء بالأمم المتحدة، طالبت خمس منظمات حقوقية إقليمية ودولية جميع الهيئات والجهات الدولية والأممية بالضغط على السلطات المصرية من أجل الإفراج الفوري عن الممثلة والمدافعة عن حقوق الإنسان إيمان الحلو و حسام أحمد وإسقاط جميع التهم الموجهة ضدهما في القضية 1739/2018. بالإضافة إلى إطلاق سراح جميع السجناء السياسيين، والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان والنشطاء المحتجزين بسبب ممارستهم حقهم في التعبير، لا سيما في ظل تفشي وباء كورونا القاتل الذي يهدد بتحويل السجون المصرية لبؤر وبائية بسبب تردي الأوضاع في السجون والتكدس الشديد وغياب الرعاية الصحية.

تأتي هذه الرسالة في ذكرى مرور عام كامل على احتجاز إيمان الحلو وحسام أحمد في فبراير 2019، وبعد أيام من تجديد حبسهما في 3 مارس الجاري لـ45 يومًا جديدًا، على خلفية اتهامات مختلقة بالمشاركة في دعم منظمة إرهابية واستخدام حساباتهم الشخصية على موقع فيس بوك لارتكاب جريمة يعاقب عليها القانون.

ألقي القبض على إيمان وحسام ضمن حملة اعتقالات جماعية أثارتها انتقادات مستخدمي وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي للحكومة ودعوات للاحتجاج في أعقاب حادث قطار محطة رمسيس الذي راح ضحيته 22 شخصًا في 27 فبراير 2019. وعلى مدى أكثر من عام من الاحتجاز واجه كلاهما انتهاكات عديدة تصل حد التعذيب والمعاملة الحاطة للكرامة على النحو المشار له في هذا النداء العاجل.

على مدى السنوات الماضية، شنت الحكومة المصرية حملة قمع غير مسبوقة ضد مواطنيها. وفي هذا السياق ألقي القبض على آلاف الأشخاص تعسفيًا واختفى أخرين قسريًا أو منعوا من السفر، ناهيك عن آلاف المعتقلين ضحايا التعذيب والمعاملة المهينة.

في 28 فبراير / شباط الماضي مر عام على إعتقال الممثلة والمدافعة عن حقوق الإنسان إيمان الحلو والعابر جنسيًا حسام أحمد. وكان قد تم القبض عليهما في 28 فبراير 2019 ضمن 70 شخصًا آخرين، في حملة اعتقالات جماعية على خلفية انتقادات مستخدمي وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي للحكومة المصرية والاحتجاج ضدها أعقاب حادث قطار محطة رمسيس في 27 فبراير 2019، والذي أسفر عن مقتل 22 شخصًا وإصابة 43 آخرين.

ومنذ ذلك الحين، يتجدد حبس إيمان الحلو وحسام أحمد على ذمه القضية رقم 1739 لعام 2018حصر أمن الدولة، ومؤخرًا في 3 مارس 2020 أصدرت النيابة قرارًا آخر بتجديد حبسهما لمدة 45 يومًا أخرى.

في البداية تم احتجازهما لمدة أربعة أيام في مكان غير معلوم، قبل مثلوهما أمام نيابة أمن الدولة في 4 مارس/ آذار 2019 بتهمة المشاركة في جماعة إرهابية واستخدام حساباتهم الشخصية على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي (فيس بوك) لارتكاب جريمة يعاقب عليها القانون. وقد قررت النيابة تجديد حبسهم مراراً منذ ذلك الحين.

وفي 3 ديسمبر 2019 قضت محكمة جنايات القاهرة بإطلاق سراحهما بتدابير احترازية، ولكن في اليوم التالي 4 ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2019 استأنفت النيابة العامة قرار الإخلاء. وبعد قبول الاستئناف، جددت المحكمة حبسهما لمدة 45 يومًا إضافية. وفي 17 ديسمبر 2019 أرسل 6 خبراء أمميّين بالأمم المتحدة خطاب مشترك للسلطات المصرية بشأن ظروف اعتقال وحبس إيمان الحلو وحسام أحمد، دون استجابة حتى الآن من الحكومة المصرية.

تم اعتقال إيمان الحلو وحسام أحمد منذ أكثر من عام بتهم كاذبة، فقط بسبب نشاطهما السلمي. وقد تعرضا لأشكال مختلفة من المضايقات والاعتداء الجسدي والنفسي. فمنذ اليوم الأول من اعتقالهما تم احتجازهما في زنزانة تحت الأرض في مركز للشرطة، بمعزل عن الهواء أو ضوء الشمس، بينما رفض سجن النساء استقبالهما لأنهما “لا يشبهن النساء”.

يقول حسام خلال مقابلة أجريت معه مؤخرًا: “لقد سئمت من أرسلهم المتكرر لي للمستشفيات، وفحص أعضائي التناسلية… المشكلة أن إيمان دائما معي، وكل ما يحدث لي يحدث لها أيضًا “.

في هذه الفترة التي ينتشر فيها وباء كورونا في مصر وتحظر الحكومة المصرية زيارة السجون، فإننا نشعر بقلق بالغ بشأن صحة وسلامة إيمان وحسام. فقد سبق وأضاف حسام في المقابلة نفسها: “بالنسبة للطعام، ترسل الحكومة لنا الخبز فقط. ولكن كل الطعام [الآخر] يأتي من الزوار، فإذا لم يأت أحد للزيارة لمدة 3 أيام، فهذا يعني أنني لن آكل لمدة 3 أيام “.

تواصل السلطات المصرية قمع مواطنيها، لا سيما المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان، ولعل اعتقال الباحث والناشط في مجال حقوق الانسان باتريك جورج زكي أحدث مثال على ذلك.

لقد انضمت مصر للعهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية، وكذا لاتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لمناهضة التعذيب وغيره من ضروب المعاملة أو العقوبة القاسية أو اللاإنسانية أو المهينة، على النحو الذي يحظر هذا النوع من المعاملة التي يتعرض لها المعتقلون، بمن فيهم إيمان الحلو وحسام أحمد. كما أن وباء كوفيد 19)كورونا) الحالي جعل الوضع أسوأ داخل السجون المصرية. لذا تطالب العديد من المنظمات والحملات بالإفراج الفوري عن آلاف السجناء لتجنب انتشار المرض في السجون ومراكز الاعتقال المصرية.

وعليه نطالب نحن الموقعون أدناه الحكومة المصرية بـ:

  1. إسقاط جميع التهم الموجهة ضد إيمان الحلو وحسام أحمد، والإفراج الفوري غير المشروط عنهما، وكذلك المعتقلين الآخرين في القضية رقم 1739/2018.

  2. التأكد أن معاملة إيمان الحلو وحسام أحمد- لحين الإفراج عنهما- تتفق مع “مجموعة المبادئ المتعلقة بحماية الأشخاص الذين يتعرضون لأي شكل من أشكال الاحتجاز أو السجن” والتي اعتمدتها الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة بموجب القرار رقم 43 / 173 بتاريخ 9 ديسمبر 1988.

  3. إطلاق سراح جميع السجناء السياسيين. والتوقف عن قمع المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان والنشطاء بسبب ممارستهم المشروعة للحق في حرية التعبير.

المنظمات الموقعة:

  • الخدمة الدولية لحقوق الإنسان

  • الشبكة العربية للمعرفة بحقوق الإنسان

  • المبادرة المصرية الفرنسية للحقوق والحريات

  • منظمة العمل المسيحي من أجل إلغاء التعذيب – فرنسا

  • مركز القاهرة لدراسات حقوق الإنسان

ANKH
Ankh association has been established by a group of activists from Egypt who have moved to France in recent years due to the difficult situation there. Our aim is to support minority rights in the Euromediterranean region.

Email: contact@ankhfrance.org

Phone 0033 6-24-00-38-99

SIRET: 844 660 530 00016

© 2019 by ANKH|  Terms of Use  |   Privacy Policy

Disclaimer: Images on this website are stock photos posed by models.

ANKH
Ankh association has been established by a group of activists from Egypt who have moved to France in recent years due to the difficult situation there. Our aim is to support minority rights in the Euromediterranean region.

Email: contact@ankhfrance.org

Phone 0033 6-24-00-38-99

SIRET: 844 660 530 00016

© 2019 by ANKH|  Terms of Use  |   Privacy Policy

Disclaimer: Images on this website are stock photos posed by models.

Egypt: Urgent call

One year of physical and psychological abuse for
Eman Al-Helw and Hossam Ahmad

In an urgent appeal this morning 25 March 2020, five regional and international human rights organizations called on the international community to pressure the Egyptian government to immediately release actress and human rights defender Eman Al-Helw and prisoner of conscience Hossam Ahmad, and drop all charges against them in Case 1739 of 2018. The appeal – sent to members of the European Parliament and national parliaments of European states, and several UN Special Rapporteurs –further called for the release of all political prisoners, human rights defenders, activists and others arrested for exercising their right to free expression.  Their immediate release is of utmost urgency with the imminent spread of the coronavirus pandemic to Egypt’s prisons, where unsanitary detention conditions, severe overcrowding, and intentional medical neglect provide fertile ground for the virus’s spread.

The appeal comes just over a year after the anniversary of Eman Al-Helw and Hossam Ahmad’s February 2019 arrest on fabricated charges of terrorism and social media misuse. The two prisoners of conscience were arrested at the same time during a wave of arrests following the Ramses train station accident on February 27, 2019, which killed over two dozen persons.  The Egyptian government’s crackdown was sparked by social media users criticizing the government and calling for protests in the wake of the accident.

Earlier this month, on March 3rd,  Eman and Hossam’s detention was renewed for 45 additional days.  In over one year in detention, Eman and Hossam have endured numerous violations amounting to torture and degrading treatment, detailed in the urgent appeal.

Over the past years, the Egyptian authorities have launched an unprecedented crackdown on their own population; thousands of people have been arbitrarily arrested, forcibly disappeared, or banned from traveling. In this context, thousands of detainees are also victims of numerous acts of torture and ill-treatment. 

February 28, marked one year since the simultaneous arrests of actress and human rights defender Eman Al-Helw and transgender man Hossam Ahmad. They were both arrested on February 28, 2019, along with 70 other people, within a campaign of mass detentions sparked by social media users’ criticism of the government and calls for protests in the aftermath of a deadly train crash at Ramses Station that had killed 22 and injured 43 on February 27, 2019. They are under investigation within State Security Case no. 1739 of 2018. 

They were first detained for four days in an unknown location. Then they appeared before the State Security Prosecution on March 4, 2019, on charges of participating in supporting a terrorist organization and using their personal accounts on Facebook to commit a crime punishable by law. Their detention has been repeatedly renewed since then. 

On December 3, 2019, the Cairo Criminal Court ruled they should be released with precautionary measures. However, the following day, December 4, 2019, the Public Prosecution appealed the decision and the appeal was accepted, thus renewing their pretrial detention for an additional 45 days. 

On December 17, 2019, 6 UN special rapporteurs jointly wrote to Egyptian authorities regarding the conditions of arrest and detention of Eman Al-Helw and Hossam Ahmed, without answer so far.

Lately, on March 3, 2020, the Prosecution issued yet another decision to renew the detention of Al-Helw and Ahmed for another 45 days.

For over one year, Eman Al-Helw and Hossam Ahmed have been held on false charges, only because of their peaceful activities. They have also been constantly subjected to various forms of harassment, physical and psychological abuse. Since the first day of their detention, they have been held in an underground cell in a police station, with no access to fresh air or sunlight, as the women’s prisons refuse to take them because they don’t “look like women”.

During a recent interview, Hossam explained: "I am tired of being brought to hospitals again and again, and having my genitals exposed there... The problem is that because Eman is staying with me, anything that happens to me also happens to her." 

In this period where the coronavirus is spreading in Egypt and visits are prohibited, we are even more worried about Eman and Hossam’s health, as, in the same interview, Hossam declared ‘for food, the government only sends us bread. But all the [other] food comes from visitors. If I don’t have visitors for 3 days, that means I don't eat for 3 days.” 

------

Egyptian authorities keep repressing their own people, particularly human rights activists, and defenders - the recent arrest of student and activist Patrick George Zaky being only the latest example.

The situation inside Egypt’s prisons is alarming, despite the fact that Egypt is a party to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, the United Nations Convention on Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, both of which prohibit the kind of treatment to which detainees like Eman Al-Helw and Hossam Ahmed have been subjected. The current Covid-19 pandemic has made the situation in Egyptian prisons even worse; many organizations and campaigns are asking for the immediate release of thousands of prisoners in order to avoid the spread of the disease in Egyptian prisons and detention centers.

Therefore, we ask the Egyptian government to:

1. Drop all charges against Eman Al-Helw and Hossam Ahmed, and immediately and unconditionally release them, as well as others detained within case 1739/2018.

2. While they remain in custody,  ensure that the treatment of Eman Al-Helw and Hossam Ahmad is consistent with the "Body of Principles for the Protection of All Persons under Any Form of Detention or Imprisonment", adopted by UN General Assembly Resolution 43/173 of December 9, 1988.

3. Free all political prisoners; stop persecuting human rights defenders and activists for exercising their freedom of expression. 

Organisations signataires:

 

·     Action des chrétiens pour l'abolition de la torture (ACAT France)

·     Arab Network for Knowledge about Human rights (ANKH association)

·     Cairo Institute For Human Rights Studies (CIHRS)

·     Initiative franco-égyptienne pour les droits les libertés (IFEDL)

·     International Service for Human Rights (ISHR)